And then there was one.. (again)

So. Tim and I parted ways at the oh so romantic Wien Hauptbahnhof. It was your typical love story –  boy waves off girl on the platform while she looks between two suitcases and over a child through a tinted window. Only to briefly look down and another train appear on the middle. You know, the usual. 

Being callous as ever – I’m continuing my trip while Tim hits the old UK again. On the bright side, he survived and I’m not incarcerated (swings and roundabouts you know)

So. Further into Austria I venture (I’m now in the small thin bit with the Alps). The journey began with the rather flat and generally slow pace of Austrian life.



I must’ve fallen asleep briefly on my train and awoke to steep rock faced mountains that wouldn’t have looked out of place in an advert for an American national park. 

As with any train photo, they’re fairly disappointing looking and don’t do their scale justice! (No word of a lie I deleted at least 100 photos of poles/walls/fences that I took while trying to photo – I’m so tragic)
I don’t usually talk about my hotel but I got sort of lost trying to find this one.. It was worth the struggle as the room is really sweet and I have a garden view :-). However I have the same non English channel issue with the TV and spend my TV time wastching animal programmes with no sound.. 

While the sun was briefly out (see the forecast – this could be fun..)  I decided to head out to have an explore and see what I could find. 

I found the ‘top attraction’ for Innsbruck pretty well straight away – the Golden Roof. I was thoroughly underwhelmed, snapped a pic and carried on…

I found this arch (which I’m going to do some reading about..) and basically had to play musical skateboard to avoid being killed within my first 5 minutes! 

There’s something a little odd about the mountains looming over you – I can just picture the winter months when the town is full of skiers and the mountains covered in thick snow! 

The little winding streets had a faint smell of cinnamon and incense. Even McDonald’s is forced to conform with the look of the old town! 

I headed (accidentally – I never really know where I’m going, let’s face it..) towards the river and the mountains and took a couple of photos down there while I checked the times of the cable cars. 

Tomorrow (weather permitting) I’ll be heading up the mountain with my little packed lunch to explore up there too (insert nerd face here…..!)


Caio for now. 

Leave a comment